Beware of Poison Oak

July 27, 2007

This what my dad normally looks like…

This is what he has looked like all week…

Apparently my dad wondered into some Poison Oak dirt biking. About a week after riding (which is common) his whole body broke out with a nasty rash.

Apparently it’s also very itchy, and where the rash wasn’t on his face his skin was a nasty green color. This happened because he’s allergic to Poison Oak, but many people are.

…Maybe this painful picture will help you remember a few things about Poison Oak.

This is what Poison Oak looks like…

This is how it gets you…

  1. You brush up against leaves with bare skin.
  2. The oil soaks into your skin.
  3. If you’re allergic, you breakout.  …I am so glad I’m not.


This is what you should do if you’re exposed…

There isn’t a lot you can do.  If you are exposed you should take a long shower as soon as possible. …And don’t use the hot water (opening pores could be a bad idea).

7 Responses to “Beware of Poison Oak”

  1. Leslie Says:

    eeeps…I hope your dad is better now!!

  2. Shlongy Says:

    It took me almost two weeks to break out after brushing up against a poison oak.

  3. Scoop Says:

    Ha. I searched google looking for pictures of poison oak and found this… guess how I got mine? Dirt Biking. 🙂

  4. christina Says:

    Well, I actually got mine from my pug laying in it in our yard and the oils soaked into me while holding him. All around my neck and chest even around mu lips from$ giving him kisses. The day I went to urgent care from my bad break out was the day he was in the groomers.

  5. Sarah Says:

    My grandson and his friend (both age 7) came home with a bunch of leaves in their pockets, and I began to suspect they were poison oak. I asked my grandson to lead me to where he had found the leaves, and sure enough, they had poison oak. Lucky for us, nobody broke out! I once knew a guy who could just get downwind of it and his poor face would swell up like a balloon!

  6. steve mey Says:

    I also got poison oak from dirtbiking at hollister tho.

  7. kris :* Says:

    hey,

    my dog and i got it too! “i look still like your dad” 😉 and my dog had to vomit all the day – poor thing!
    you ll see my dog PHELIX KNOPPH, as well as myself, on the http://mruxndesign.blogspot.com/2009/12/our-christmas-angle-dog.html
    thanks god i am not allergic to it!

    have a great day!
    kris


Leave a Reply

