Richard turns 14

May 14, 2007

Well, I never thought it’d happen but Richard is 14.  …I thought he’d have punched his ticket dirt-biking or falling into creeks by now, guess I was wrong. It’s really odd watching my little siblings grow up.  They’re starting to look like adults, and they already act like they’re equal with adults.  …But I don’t think they have any idea how difficult it actually is being an adult.  …And I can’t wait to see the look on their faces when they find out.

I remember the first time I realized adults didn’t have the easy life.  I think I was about 9, my dad was getting ready for work and on his way out the door he said, “Brian, I don’t want to go to work today.” I said, “Well then don’t dad!” And he said, “Son, when you’re an adult male you have to go to work every day.” …I paused in horror, and then replied, “Dad, that sucks.” 

It sortof concerns me that Richard and Nequeshe don’t seem to get this yet. …Oh well, between the economy, war and my career I have enough to worry about.

Above from the left to the right, Nequeshe (sister), Alona (mom), Susan (niece), Richard (brother), Tami (almost-sister-in-law), Dave (dad), Mick (brother), April (sister), Isaiah (nephew) and me.

4 Responses to “Richard turns 14”

  1. Alex W Says:

    I think its the duty of every adult to conceal from children that 98% of adult life(for most of us) is concerned with making money, paying bills, selling out, and fighting the overwhelming sense of bitterness at being lied to ourselves as children. I think child-labor laws should be rethought. How many times have we all crashed down on the couch at the end of a fourteen hour day of hell at work, plus a two hour commute with a bunch of similarly bitter assholes, and said to a glass of vodka on the rocks “I didn’t know it was going to be like this”? If work, stress, and disappointment was something we learned starting before we could form sentences, I think we’d be much better equipped(if not just ‘used’ to it) to handle the realities of adult life that most westerners are spared until they graduate from high school or college. I’m kind of kidding here, but really, running around in the woods as a kid was fun, but too much of a good thing. I should have been working at least a couple hours a week at a textile mill, or maybe an iron smelt!(nod to Zoolander :)) Just a thought.
    Alex

  2. 8r13n Says:

    Yeah, I’m glad my dad took me to work with him regularly. Around 14-16 he started leaving my at small job sites to work alone for a few hours (which made me feel important).

    Every once in a while some random adult would bother me about working. They’d say, “Shouldn’t you be in school?” …Rude right?

    Well, in a surprised tone I’d reply, “No, I’m homeschooled. I’ll hit the books tonight. Right now I’m working!”

    It still blows me away that adults would bother ME for paiting with a roller and brush when the kids all over the city were spray painting walls.

  3. 8r13n Says:

    Honestly, I’m planning on being harder on my kids then my dad was when it comes to work. He was a little too soft.

  4. 8r13n Says:

    …Obviously he was, I wrote that comment during work hours!


Leave a Reply

